Celebrationgoddess's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Taming Lillian Pratt July 10, 2011

Filed under: happy thoughts,Interesting — celebrationgoddess @ 10:58 pm
 

Lillian in my vegetable garden

SUNDAY’s Sampler Platter – (imagine that).

Lately my life has been very VERY thorny. Perhaps you’ve guessed that that’s why I have not been blogging. I won’t drag you through the pointy details. But suffice it to say that I’m finding it hard to get by sometimes. I do tend to rely on my friends a lot for encouragement. And with the incredible amount of things that I must do and the additional things that I want to do, sometimes it’s hard to see the precious moments in the day.

I thought perhaps I’d blog about my rose. Because I was thinking about the precious moments I spent on her today. She’s called Auntie Lillian Pratt. A very close friend of mine moved away to Florida in October. I miss her a lot! Before she moved, she asked if I wanted Lillian. They dug her up, put her roots in a bucket of water for several days in the last terribly hot dry days of  summer last year. She was attached to the trellis and I got her to the yard and installed in her new home. She immediately decided to lose her leaves. Oh how dramatic she was!

So what’s with Miss Lillian? Why does she have a name? No it’s not the name of the plant that the breeder gave. She’s affectionately called Auntie Pratt. You see there was a real Lillian Pratt and she lived in Galesburg, IL. It was my friend’s neighbor.

This 7 sisters pink climbing rose travelled to Galesburg through Iowa on a covered wagon 100 years ago!!! I definitely find it amazing that I have a plant that is older than the house I live in (which is over 90 years old). Auntie Pratt gave them this plant and when my friend moved she could not bring herself to leave it to people who didn’t know her story. Being a gardener, she knew I’d appreciate and take care of Lillian.

Well I’m happy to say that not only did Lillian bloom last week, but she’s putting out lots of new branches for me to scratch myself on while I wind her around the trellis. She’s reminding me that with the bad comes the good. The thorns and scratches of my life are always there. But the beauty of things are there too.

Last year, I took a bunch of cuttings and stuck them in the ground under a cloche to root them. And when I visited my friend in Florida in May, I brought her a cutting of Lillian to put in her own garden. She was very surprised and happy. And she couldn’t wait to tell her folks that now Lillian has moved to another state. Only this time it wasn’t by covered wagon, it was by plane!

Today, I trimmed off her old dead wood, took more cuttings and put them under the cloche. I’m hoping to make enough cuttings to share with my garden club. Because I think Lillian would be happy to know that her plant is getting around!!!!

New cloche cuttings

“The optimist sees the rose and not its thorns; the pessimist stares at the thorns, oblivious to the rose.”

Isn't she pretty?

Laugh, learn and liven up your taste buds!

Bethsheba
http://imacelebrationgoddess.com/index.html

 

3 Responses to “Taming Lillian Pratt”

  1. holessence Says:

    Beth – You’ve got to be in the same After Storm mess that we’re in. Yowza!

  2. Nancy Says:

    Would this be the same Auntie Pratt that lived on Berrien St in Galesburg???
    She was my Dad’s neighbor, growing up. She used to bake birthday cakes for my Brother’s 4th of july birthday every year. (we would return to Galesburg each summer).

    • Hi Nancy, I would guess yes. The girlfriend that gave me the rose told me the story and was from Galesburg. So I can’t imagine it would most likely be any other than the one that you remember. I’m so happy to hear your story. I will share it with my friend! What a small world huh? How did you find my blog. So neat…Have a great day! Beth


Leave a Reply

