Celebrationgoddess's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Thanking the lord I’m still only in my 40’s! May 15, 2010

Filed under: happy thoughts — celebrationgoddess @ 5:05 am

Today put much perspective on my life. I moan and groan about all the things that I don’t get accomplished or things I don’t have. But wow working today at the Winchester Old Folks home made me realize just what I do have!!!

I can travel and dance and get together with people and do all the necessary things in life. Working, driving, cooking, bitching at my husband, mopping the floor, painting my toenails or my walls, digging out hostas to split up and move around in my yard.

But seeing 80-90 year old men and women, all in wheelchairs, most of them with a grim look on their face makes you feel ALIVE!!!! It was a wonderful day, painting their nails, playing bingo, serving them giant cupcakes, and wheeling them all around the building to see the entertainment. We saw the Beauty School Dropouts ladies sing to the group. With the pink wings and boas. It was such a tiring day, I came home for a nap! hahahaha

Enjoy your life cause man o man it goes by fast. Next thing you know, you’ll be wheeling around in a chair looking for a date to see the afternoon’s entertainment.

Laugh, learn and liven up your taste buds!

Bethsheba
http://imacelebrationgoddess.com/index.html

 

4 Responses to “Thanking the lord I’m still only in my 40’s!”

  1. Beth – Your blog today re-confirms what the comedian who lived to be 100, George Burns, said:

    “If I had known I was going to live this long, I would have taken better care of myself!”

    Have a FANTASTIC day!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  2. Barbara Kass Says:

    What a picture! I quit smoking about 20 years ago because I knew I was not going to be one of the people living to be 100 in good health. I am going to live to be very old and I want to be in GREAT health. It sounds like you were at a nursing home that takes care of its people. There are some nobody wants to visit or talk about, much less live in. It should be required to visit a nursing home on a regular basis just to remind us all of what our future might look like.

    • Good day! I know isn’t that picture a crack up?
      Yes the facility seemed very well run and that the people taking care of them really cared. One of the little old ladies danced in her chair the whole time and I just had to go over and talk to her to ask her about it. She said she loves to dance “even if it’s in my chair”!


Leave a Reply

