Celebrationgoddess's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Little boy with a new toy and tongue tacos May 10, 2010

Filed under: Entree Recipes — celebrationgoddess @ 3:28 am

Sounds like a strange combination? Well yes it certainly is! My husband informed me this morning that he had purchased a log splitter and was waiting patiently to go and get it. But first I had to find tongue.

Before you go around wagging your tongue that I’m out looking for a good time…Let’s talk about this…

French kissing? No
Gene Simmons music? No
A tongue lashing? Well that is a daily occurrence at our pad. I’m a GREAT nagger.

Tongue? Yes my sainted mother-in-law likes tongue tacos.  And our little family of 3 had a wonderful little Mommy’s day dinner of corn on the cob, watermelon chicken tacos and lengue (or beef tongue).

Okay I’m game. I put one in my mouth and spit it right back out again. TOO HOT for my bad tummy. But I’m sure happy I was able to scare up what she wanted after going to:

A grocery store – no dice. And how would one even make tongue? Expecially at 3:00pm and Mamacita is arriving at 4:30.
Super Mercado – puzzled look by the deli counter men. No habla ingles senora when I asked for calves tongue.
So I strolled back to the diner part of the super mercado and asked for dos lengue tacos.

Found this recipe on recipezaar for you daring souls…

Crock Pot Tongue Tacos

Ingredients

Directions

Place first 10 ingredients in crock pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours. You can slice the tongue lengthwise to make it fit,

You can substitute beef stock for the water.

Before you remove tongue from crock pot prep the rest of the ingredients for toppings, etc. (the lime is for a squeeze over your tacos). Garnish with these as you like. Sometimes I just put cilantro, scallions, a touch of avocado, salt, pepper & lime but experiment! Adjust amount as needed.

Once tongue is done remove & peel off outer layer, it comes off pretty easily once it’s fully cooked. Chop or shred meat and make your tacos! This is so delicious you probably won’t have leftovers but if you do it’s even better the next day! Enjoy!

As for the log splitter. Yes my husband came right home and got to splitting some oak logs. I’m enjoying a roaring fire while I tell you about tongue.  Hmmm I may even listen to some good old Kiss!!!

Laugh, learn and liven up your taste buds!

Bethsheba
http://imacelebrationgoddess.com/index.html

 

3 Responses to “Little boy with a new toy and tongue tacos”

  1. Beth – I’m sure your mother-in-law appreciated all of your effort on her behalf. It sounds like you guys had a good day. A log splitter?! Thankfully, our wood is delivered already split. Did you guys come across some sizeable chunks?

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/

  2. Actually since you weren’t able to make last year’s party, you didn’t see that we had to take down our 200 year old tree next to our door. Sad but the base was rotting. And huge tree + bad winds = holes in roof of neighbor or Weiss house.

    My intention is to make a fairy cottage out of the stump. But that’s another whole long story of a husband that doesn’t listen.

    When I’m done with my fairy cottage, I’m going to make a sign for it. My address is 2616 Fair Oak Lane, cottage will be 2616a Fairy Oak Lane. CUTE?

    Hope you had a nice Mother’s Day?

  3. holessence Says:

    Beth – Ohhhhhh, I’m sorry about the tree, but I fully understand. A fairy cottage in the stump will be wonderful — and I love the address!

    Had a great mother’s day. In addition to being kidnapped and taken to breakfast, we went to and saw the documentary movie “OCEANS.” It is beyond wonderful. A Must-See movie!

    You can read about the rest of my day on my blog. Here’s a link http://holessence.wordpress.com/2010/05/10/when-pigs-fly/


Leave a Reply

