Celebrationgoddess's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Come to my garden to be a detective May 5, 2010

Filed under: Dessert - Just apply to thighs,Gardener's dirt,happy thoughts — celebrationgoddess @ 3:45 am

On my high from last night’s foray into the garden to pick mint by the moonlight, I woke up at 6:15am ready to rock. Back to where those happy little future mint patties are living and decided to move some other plants.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

Made with mashed potatoes!!! Found this on allrecipes. Now that’s unusual!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup mashed potatoes
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 teaspoons peppermint extract
  • 8 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 8 (1 ounce) squares semisweet chocolate
  • 2 tablespoons shortening

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, mix together the potatoes, salt, butter, and peppermint extract. Gradually mix in confectioners’ sugar; mix in enough to make a workable dough, between 6 and 8 cups.
  2. Knead slightly, and roll into cherry-size balls. Flatten balls to form patties. Arrange on sheets of wax paper, and allow to dry overnight.
  3. Place chocolate and shortening in a microwave-safe bowl. Heat in microwave, stirring occasionally, until melted and smooth. Dip patties in melted chocolate, and let cool on wax paper.

With the recent success of the Bethsheba vs. unflowering wisteria, I decided this year I’m out for blood with the red hot pokers!!!! But I had to tease them away from the mints. Hmmm red hot mints? Anyway, try teasing the red hot poker plants from the grass. I’d be happy for you to come over and tell me which was which. But I “think” success on doing that.They want to be in full bright sun so sister that’s where they’re going.

Did my work a day work. Got only get one hour to garden this morning. It’s amazing how the time flies by with my butt planted on the ground pulling weeds.

If you read my Barney Fife story from 2 weeks ago, I narrowly avoided the cops getting me for a second time. I slipped past him and got into a parking garage. But the good part of the story is that I went and got my driver’s license renewed. AND WHAT THE….It’s actually a good picture. Go figure! What’s that all about????

The evening was rounded out with a floral arrangement assignment at garden club. We brought in an unusual vase and another person had to arrange it. I brought a green glass shaped like a woman with coconut bra and grass skirt. Something they’d expect from Bethsheba. I can’t disappoint!  I got to decorate a teacup. Guess who got the worst in show tonight? You got it baby – Bethsheba. I made a rounded bouquet which I just learned is a no no. You must have lightness at the tippy top. You must have “space” within the arrangement. Ok now I know. Next time sucka – I’m getting the blue ribbon.

Laugh, learn and liven up your taste buds! (I learned quite a lot today.)
Bethsheba

http://imacelebrationgoddess.com/index.html

 

2 Responses to “Come to my garden to be a detective”

  1. Beth – You get the blue ribbon in my book every time — great post!

    Laurie Buchanan
    http://holessence.wordpress.com/


Leave a Reply

